Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

Top Business Students Inducted into International Honor Society

6/13/2008 —

Penn State Lehigh Valley announces the formation of a local chapter of the Sigma Beta Delta International Business Honor Society. The Penn State Lehigh Valley Chapter, formally installed April 2008, inducted its first charter members May 9, 2008. Approximately 10 years ago, Sigma Beta Delta was created as a business honor society for institutions with regional accreditation. Sigma Beta Delta has now established over 225 chapters in 45 states, with one international institution. Sigma Beta Delta provides an opportunity for the faculty to confer on students at Penn State Lehigh Valley international recognition for their outstanding academic achievements in the school of business.

The purposes of the society shall be to encourage and recognize scholarship and accomplishment among students seeking business degrees and to encourage and promote aspirations toward personal and professional improvement and a life distinguished by honorable service to humankind.

Candidates for bachelor's and master's degrees in the school of business who rank in the upper 20 percent of their class at the time of invitation to membership may be inducted into membership following completion of at least one-half of the degree program in which they are enrolled. While almost 300,000 students receive bachelor's or master’s degrees in business each year, only about 4,000 are inducted into lifetime membership in Sigma Beta Delta.

Sigma Beta Delta officers (faculty) present at the induction were Dr. Denise T. Ogden, President, and Dr. John McCullough, Vice President.  In addition, Professor Michelle Kline, Program Coordinator, and Dr. Barbara Cantalupo, Interim Academic Officer, were also present.  Professor Kline and Dr. Ogden spoke at the induction.

The Penn State Lehigh Valley faculty and staff congratulate the 13 students who were inducted into membership this year:  Seniors:  Alicia L. Rohrbach, Paul W. Morrison, Julia  Tran, Sally L. Habib, Emily M. Redline, Timothy R. Rabenold, Elizabeth A. Davis; Juniors:  Thomas J. Kenna, Mark J. Crouse, Anayansi Escobar, Lorraine McClure, and Alisa Erdman.

Email this story to a friend Facebook Twitter